Home > Virtual Museum >

- SOLD - Complete SET - Catechetical Scenes pop-up books. All 17 volumes with dust jackets

rAntique pop-up Books Catechetical Scenes

Alternative Views:

Catechetical Scenes. ALL 17, complete set of Pop-up Books

By M. Coerezza. Hong Kong, Salesian Catechetical Centre, 1957 - 1964

Blue cloth-covered boards with blind-stamped design and gilt lettering on front board and gilt lettering on spine.

Complete set of all 17 volumes. Each book has it’s original Dust jacket and about 20 perfect pop-ups per volume. Some of the books include “lift the flap” and pull-string features as well as the finely cut pop-ups.

Each book is 5.25 X 7.5 inches

Condition: Excellent. Fine dust jackets. All pop-ups and movables in fine unused condition. The books have slight warping of some pages and a few have minor water stains on inside covers –see photos.

15 of the books are in English and two are in Italian. The 2 Italian books come with translation booklets.

For more information on these fascinating books see Collector’s Corner below. ( As always, we encourage readers to email us info for the Collectors corner comments on each book – we update this section as we go along, so check back)

Collector’s Corner:

Very few complete sets are known to still exist. Several sets, including these, were discovered in storage in Hong Kong and were made available in the late 1990's to a few luck collectors through a monastery in the United States.

This series of books was produced to teach Roman Catholic doctrine. There were 17 volumes published. The dust jacket lists an 18th volume but it was never produced. According to a collector in Arizona, these are the only pop-up books known with a nihil obstat. This designation means that there is nothing in the books that is against faith or morals.

Availability:: Usually Ships in 24 to 48 Hours
Product Code: M-12